2009 BWAA Annual Meeting

BWAA Convention News - 2009



Wyckoff and Goodwin take the BWAA Reins
President Dick Evans of Daytona Beach, FL brought The Bowling Writer’s Association of America meeting to order at the Mandalay Bay Hotel/Casino in Las Vegas, NV. The June 23, 2009 meeting was surrounded by an aura of uncertainty concerning a proposal presented by Strike Ten Entertainment to provide the administrative services to BWAA. Pros and cons had been expressed by various members and the moment of truth was here.

Several things appeared to spell “change” to the three-quarter century bowling writer organization. They merged with the National Women Bowling Writers association three years ago and the once all men’s group was not sure this was a good thing but agreed to the change. More women are involved in the business and leadership of BWAA and it was generally agreed it has been good for the organization.

Executive Director Bill Vint reported that the current membership was 361 including 43 Life Members and through a variety of promotions BWAA gained 28 new members. Winners of the US Bowler Media Awards competition will be given a one-year membership. Vint said that although we are delivering more information faster than ever before, typically 40-50% of our members actually open and read the e-mail correspondence.

With visibility in mind, in 2008 Vint pushed for hosting a breakfast at the Associated Press Sports Editors annual convention for the opportunity for bowling to tell its story to this influential group. The breakfast was underwritten by USBC and Strike Ten and will be held again this year.

Elected to the BWAA Board of Directors were Frank Deken, Coweta, OK and David Prange, Las Vegas, NV. Re-elected to the board were Chris Beard, Gardnerville, NV, Dick Evans, Daytona Beach, FL, Joan Taylor, E. Stroudsburg, PA and Bill Zuben, Largo, FL.

The BWAA board of directors elected Jackie Wyckoff, Campbell, CA to lead the organization and Jim Goodwin, Rockwall, TX was elected as Vice President. Wyckoff will be only the fifth woman to serve in the BWAA top spot. Others were: Tina Gohr, Pearl Keller, Fran Deken and Hazel McLeary. Goodwin is the Publisher/Owner of the Stars & Strikes bowling newspaper.

BPAA Executive Director John Berglund, BPAA President Jim Sturm and USBC President Jeff Boje all spoke at the meeting in favor of what they felt the advantages would be for BWAA membership to accept the offer of having their administrative duties done by Strike Ten Entertainment. With members asking why BPAA, STE, or USBC would want us it was found that the proposal was initiated by BWAA asking BPAA to present the proposal. Berglund noted the “staff” is simply on loan to administrate services.

President Dick Evans asked all the hard questions and made several demands, all of which were granted including an opt-out if BWAA doesn’t like the way things are going. The proposal won by three votes and those in opposition were visibly shaken. Hard to imagine some of these scribes would shun BWAA because things didn’t go their way. If you want things to “change” you need to hang in.

With a goal of finding young, talented, intelligent writers from our youth bowlers, Chairman Joan Romeo announced that there were 13 applicants for the Pezzano Youth Scholarship. Winners were: Thomas Madrecki, Northbrook, IL ($1,000); Heather D’Errico, Rochester, NY ($750); Ryan Yadao, Las Vegas, NV ($750) and Michelle Todisco, West Chester, PA ($500.)

A motion was made to give an honorarium to retiring Executive Director Bill Vint and in line with BWAA charitable giving a motion was made to donate $500 to the California Bowling Writers Phone Cards for the Troops charity.

An informative media workshop entitled Getting to Know Your Friendly Neighborhood Bowling Writer was presented by noted journalists Bill Vint, Dan McDonough and Dick Evans.

John La Spina and Peggy Elias were honored as Honorary Members.

The Perks!
Each year, BWAA members and numerous VIP’s are privileged to attend the elegant Columbia Dinner emceed by John Jowdy of El Cajon, CA. The evening allows the movers and shakers of bowling to rub elbows and share in the presentation of several awards.

The Bowling Writers of America presented their Bowler of the Year award to Norm Duke and Lynda Barnes who had a tremendous 2008 year. Johnny Petraglia was awarded The BWAA Meritorious Award and Bob Johnson, Editor of Bowlers Journal, received the BWAA Hall of Fame award. The membership also felt it was important to preserve the names of long time contributors to bowling - President Alberta E. Crowe and Bowler’s Journal icon Mort Luby. Starting in 2010, the Meritorious Service Award will bear Alberta Crowe’s name and the Hall of Fame award will bear Mort Luby’s name.

Completely stunned when her name was called, Mary Lynly of Roseville, CA was the recipient of the Columbia 300 Humanitarian of the Year award given for “For Decades of Dedicated and Unselfish Contributions to the Sport of Bowling.”

Bowling Writers are treated like royalty at Bowl Expo and rose to the occasion to attend the Storm Breakfast at 7:00 AM! Storm touts themselves “The Bowler’s Company” and owners Barbara and Bill Chrisman and several members of their staff were present. It’s always exciting to have an accomplished staff like this tell you about their equipment and promotional plans. How would you like to be able to attend a clinic staffed by their pros for just $29.00? Sounds like a deal to me and it’s in the works. All Storm salespeople are Silver Level coaches.

BWAA members also enjoyed a luncheon hosted by Brunswick who showed us a PowerPoint presentation of numerous bowling centers that have been refurbished. It was also announced that the Professional Bowlers Association would begin next season with the creation of the Lumber Liquidators PBA Tour World series of Bowling with seven events held in Michigan.

Immediately following the convention BWAA officers started working with the combined bowling industry leaders to become part of the family.



Las Vegas, NV -  As the doors opened to the more than 4,000 bowling center owners and bowling industry leaders from nearly 40 countries at the 61st annual Bowling Proprietors’ Association of America trade show and convention, bowling writers were ready to help promote bowling centers.  Proprietors were encouraged to stop by the booth (#327) for a professional news release tailored just for them.  Shortly after the trade show opened, writers were busy working with proprietors developing a news release which can be used to promote their bowling center. Completed news releases are posted here demonstrating the writing prowess of BWAA.

Airway Lanes
Al-Mar Lanes
Ayr Lanes
Burlington Bowl
Castaways Bowl
Expo and Woodland Bowl
Harley's Camarillo Bowl
Interstate Lanes
Jim's Pro Shop
Sky’s Lanes & Lounge
Stewart Lanes
Sunset Lanes
Twin Oaks Bowling Center
Western Bowl



2009 BWAA Convention Photos


2009 Annual Meeting | Privacy| Terms
Copyright 2011 by Bowling Writers Association of America Xhtml 1.0 CSS 2.1